top of page

Weekly Update July 22, 2018

-Monsters & Mayhem-

Welcome again to the Sunday blog where we give all of you a bit of a heads up on where things are heading development wise. And this week boy do we have some exciting news!

We have finalized our creature designs for the majority of the enemies you’ll be facing in the first chapter of CoU which include slimes, giant hornets (I’ll pass) and some other standard fare such as bats and skeletons. Below you can see the work of our new creature and overall enemy designer, Thijs Rozema!

One of our slime monsters that is comprised of dirt, mud, human remains, and yes even poop!

Our original slime monster based on plant matter. You can see it is made of leaves and branches.

And our giant hornet which has some scary looking stingers!

Thijs does some amazing work and were eagerly looking forward to the next design! You can find out more about Thijs at his blow below!

http://thijsrozema.blogspot.com/

-Now, on to the mayhem!-

For those you unaware, this project has gone through several hands and several iterations across all departments such as music, art, and story to be sure. It hasn't been easy and due to that it can at times be overwhelming.

I think I speak for my team when I say sometimes you can just get frustrated or disfranchised entirely from the project. One can reach that proverbial wall because of writer's block, a track that just doesn't sound right, or even a piece of decor on a map that just doesn't seem to fit no matter how much you angle it.

It's moments like this when I have come to tell myself that I don't need to solve that problem today or even tomorrow. No, I'm not advocating procrastination but instead the idea that if you can't solve one problem today, try solving a different one instead. One of the most important things I've learned since getting into game design is you have to keep your head in the game, even if you got to take a break once in a while.

Personally I'm at a place in development currently where it's more or less out of my hands and so while I'm waiting for the next stage I've begun developing a small one man side project: an adventure board game with deck building elements. No commercial value in it, just something to do to keep the gears moving.

So to the other developers out there, don't give up! Keep pushing and see that project through. I was told early on to give up, that I was just a stupid "Ideas guy" and now I'm developing a pretty nice looking indie RPG with a wonderful team. A team that's grown by one more! Welcome to the team Thijs!

bottom of page